19th Ave New York, NY 95822, USA

The Porous City

The Porous City

The Porous City

During Triennial Bruges 2021: TraumA, in addition to the installations in the city centre of Bruges, a group exhibition will also be organized to further explore the ambivalent theme: between dream and nightmare, under the skin or underground, from analogue to digital alienation. A selection of around 40 sculptures, photographs, drawings, paintings, and videos links the ‘unnerving’ nature of the rooms within the Burghers’ Lodge with dissonant voices, storylines, and wondrous worlds. The artists portray their view of the world, mankind, and architecture, which sometimes appears to be fragmented or distorted, but at other times also idyllic or heavenly.

Triennial Bruges 2021: TraumA proposes a microscopic view of the environment and its residents, an under-the-skin analysis, and an interweaving with the hidden part of the urban fabric. The unspoken or the unnerving comes to the fore in the context of its architecture, urbanization, gardens, or parks. The exhibition The Porous City adds another dimension: the indoor spaces of a building where the work of diverse artists is divided into thematic groups. Here, Triennial Bruges extends the scope of its research from the urban outdoors to the private nature of a former home. In this environment, the research is intensified and narrowed down: in this laboratory, art forms create a dialogue, while others clash or seek conflict.

From the ‘Grand Nada’ to the ‘Vanity of Vanities’, visitors are confused, from cellar to spire, by colorful ribbons, delicate flowers, or strings of oil paint. Hard marble, wooden splinters, and strange polyester shapes shun today’s individual and social challenges. Besides the different threats, there is naturally also room for idyll and wonder. The fact the work is local, from Belgian workshops or a private collection, makes the presentation meaningful, stirring, and reassuring.

With work from Bilal Bahir, Semâ Bekirović, Rakel Bergman Fröberg, Willem Boel, Dries Boutsen, Jana Cordenier, Thierry De Cordier, Sarah De Vos, Lisse Declercq, Danny Devos, Joëlle Dubois, Kendell Geers, Daan Gielis, Geert Goiris, John Isaacs, Athar Jaber, Thomas Lerooy, Emilio López-Menchero, Enrique Marty, Cécile Massart, Hermann Nitsch, Ronald Ophuis, Štefan Papčo, Jasper Rigole, Sarah&Charles, Gregor Schneider, Mircea Suciu, Adrien Tirtiaux, Narcisse Tordoir, Ana Torfs, Gavin Turk, Ingel Vaikla, Caroline Van den Eynden, Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven, Filip Vervaet, Julie Villard & Simon Brossard, Friederike von Rauch

Book your visit online

Kraanrei 19

From 8 May until 24 October 2021

open daily from 10 a.m. > 6 p.m.

Booking mandatory

Room 1.2

Roosenberg is a place, a space, a building, a film. Roosenberg is Amanda, Godelieve, Rosa and Trees. Roosenberg is a letter that tells of an encounter with four elderly nuns in a fascinating modernist monastery in Belgium, before the building was vacated. It is the story of a space at the beginning of the end.” – Ingel Vaikla

With work from: Ingel Vaikla.

Room 1.4

In this space, different realities, with their own laws, appear to move side by side. You tumble from one body to another visual language, in such a way that life and death, order and chaos, the theatrical and the intimate, humour and beauty meet each other.

With work from: John Isaacs, Athar Jaber, Thomas Lerooy, Enrique Marty, Štefan Papčo, Gavin Turk.

Room 2.2

In this room, wondrous worlds come together in colourful depictions and seductive figures. Feminine strength is present in the works of artists of different ages, who self-consciously move between domination, idealisation and ‘girly empowerment’.

With work from: Lisse Declercq, Sarah De Vos, Joëlle Dubois, Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven.

Room 2.4

Violent scenes, war testimonies and nightmares are the leitmotiv in this final room of the exhibition route. The presented works are not necessarily documentary in nature, but in their aesthetic form they pose questions with the aim of discussing difficult subjects and taking up moral positions.

With work from: Bilal Bahir, Rakel Bergman Fröberg, Danny Devos, Kendell Geers, Daan Gielis, Emilio López-Menchero, Hermann Nitsch, Mircea Suciu .

19th Ave New York, NY 95822, USA

La ville poreuse

La ville poreuse

La ville poreuse

Pendant la Triennale de Bruges 2021 : TraumA, outre les interventions dans le centre-ville de Bruges, une exposition collective sera également organisée afin d’approfondir le thème ambivalent : entre rêve et cauchemar, l’intimiste ou l’underground, de l’aliénation analogique au numérique. Une sélection d’une quarantaine de sculptures, de photographies, de dessins, de peintures et de vidéos relie le caractère « caché » des espaces particuliers du Poortersloge (Loge des Bourgeois) à des voix dissonantes, des scénarios et des mondes merveilleux. Les artistes exposent leur vision du monde, de l’homme et de l’architecture, qui est tantôt fragmentée ou déformée, tantôt poétique et paradisiaque.

La Triennale Bruges 2021 : TraumA propose une vision microscopique de l’environnement et de ses habitants, une analyse intimiste et une imbrication avec la partie cachée du tissu urbain. Le non-dit ou l’inquiétant remonte à la surface dans le contexte de son architecture, de son urbanisation, de ses jardins ou de ses parcs. L’exposition La ville poreuse y ajoute une autre dimension : les espaces intérieurs d’un bâtiment où des œuvres d’art de divers artistes sont présentées par groupes thématiques. La Triennale de Bruges élargit ici son champ de recherche de l’espace urbain extérieur au caractère fermé d’une ancienne maison privée. Dans cet environnement, la recherche s’intensifie et se resserre : dans ce laboratoire, des œuvres d’art entrent en dialogue, d’autres se heurtent ou cherchent le conflit.

Du « Grote Niets (Grand Néant) » à la « Ijdelheid der Ijdelheden », de la trappe de la cave à la tour pointue, avec des fleurs douces, des rubans colorés ou des cordes de peinture à l’huile dégoulinantes, elles déroutent le visiteur. Même avec le marbre dur, les éclats de bois ou les formes étranges en polyester, les installations n’échappent pas aux défis individuels et sociaux actuels. Les menaces physiques, nucléaires, virtuelles et écologiques sont également abordées, à l’instar de l’idylle et du merveilleux. Avec des œuvres belges, provenant d’ateliers ou de collections privées, la présentation étonne, sculpte et oint.

Avec des œuvres de Bilal Bahir, Semâ Bekirović, Rakel Bergman Fröberg, Willem Boel, Dries Boutsen, Jana Cordenier, Thierry De Cordier, Sarah De Vos, Lisse Declercq, Danny Devos, Joëlle Dubois, Kendell Geers, Daan Gielis, Geert Goiris, John Isaacs, Athar Jaber, Thomas Lerooy, Emilio López-Menchero, Enrique Marty, Cécile Massart, Hermann Nitsch, Ronald Ophuis, Štefan Papčo, Jasper Rigole, Sarah&Charles, Gregor Schneider, Mircea Suciu, Adrien Tirtiaux, Narcisse Tordoir, Ana Torfs, Gavin Turk, Ingel Vaikla, Caroline Van den Eynden, Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven, Filip Vervaet, Julie Villard & Simon Brossard, Friederike von Rauch

Réservez votre visite en ligne. 

Kraanrei 19

Du 8 mai au 26 septembre

Ouvert tous les jours de 10 > 18 heure

Accès gratuit

Réservation obligatoire

Chambre 1.2

Roosenberg is a place, a space, a building, a film. Roosenberg is Amanda, Godelieve, Rosa and Trees. Roosenberg is a letter that tells of an encounter with four elderly nuns in a fascinating modernist monastery in Belgium, before the building was vacated. It is the story of a space at the beginning of the end.” – Ingel Vaikla

Avec des oeuvres de: Ingel Vaikla.

Chambre 1.4

Dans cet espace, des réalités différentes, avec leurs propres lois, semblent se déplacer côte à côte. Vous culbutez d’un corps à un autre imagé, de telle sorte que la vie et la mort, l’ordre et le chaos, le théâtral et l’intime, l’humour et la beauté se rencontrent.

Avec des oeuvres de: John Isaacs, Athar Jaber, Thomas Lerooy, Enrique Marty, Štefan Papčo, Gavin Turk.

Chambre 2.2

Dans cette salle, des mondes merveilleux se rencontrent dans des représentations colorées et des figures séduisantes. Le pouvoir féminin est présent dans les interventions d’artistes d’âges différents, qui oscillent consciemment entre domination, idéalisation et « autonomisation féminine ».

Avec des oeuvres de: Lisse Declercq, Sarah De Vos, Joëlle Dubois, Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven.

Chambre 2.4

Les scènes violentes, les témoignages de guerre et les cauchemars sont le leitmotiv de cette dernière salle du parcours de l’exposition. Les œuvres réunies ne sont pas nécessairement de nature documentaire, mais posent, leur forme esthétique, des questions afin de discuter de sujets difficiles et de prendre des décisions morales.

Avec des oeuvres de: Bilal Bahir, Rakel Bergman Fröberg, Danny Devos, Kendell Geers, Daan Gielis, Emilio López-Menchero, Hermann Nitsch, Mircea Suciu.